Conservative Index Add

Sunday, February 17th, 2019Last Update: Thursday, January 31st, 2019 08:02:19 PM

Oklahoma State Legislators Rated

By: Constitution Staff

This issue of the Oklahoma Constitution presents the 38th annual Oklahoma Conservative Index, rating our state legislators. Members of each house of the Oklahoma Legislature were rated on ten key votes. A favorable vote on these issues represents a belief in limited government, individual liberty, free enterprise, constitutional government, and traditional standards.

After taking suggestions from conservative leaders, the staff of the Oklahoma Constittution submitted bills to a vote of the membership of the Oklahoma Conservative Political Action Committee (OCPAC) for recommendations of the ten key votes. The legislators were rated based on their votes on bills such as defending the right to life and the right to keep and bear arms, fiscal responsibility, parental rights, defense of the individual against out of control government, and excessive licensing.

The Top Conservative and Top Liberal legislators were selected by their scores on the Index. Making the Top Conservatives list were those lawmakers who scored 80%, or better. On the Top Liberals list were those made 20%, or less.


Five legislators, three in the House and two in the Senate, scored a perfect 100% conservative rating this year. House members scoring 100% included David Brumbaugh (Broken Arrow), Jason Murphy (Guthrie), and Paul Wesselhoft of Moore. Senators Nathan Dahm of Broken Arrow, and Anthony Sykes of Moore also scored 100%.

The next highest scores were 93% made by Mike Ritze (Broken Arrow) and Chuck Strohm (Jenks) of the House, and Mark Allen (Spiro) of the Senate.

Earning a score of 90% were House members Sally Kern (Oklahoma City), Lewis Moore (Arcadia), and Steve Vaughn of Ponca City, along with Joe Silk (Broken Bow) of the Senate.

Rep. Dan Fisher of El Reno scored 86%. House members who scored 80% were John Bennett (Salliwsaw), Kevin Calvey (Oklahoma City), Travis Dunlap (Bartlesville), and James Leewright of Bristow. Senators who made 80%, to round out the Top Conservatives list were Josh Brecheen (Coalgate), Bill Brown (Broken Arrow), and Kyle Loveless of Oklahoma City.


No legislators scored zero conservative this year, but the legislator with the lowest Conservative score wasRep. Ben Loring of Miami, a Democrat from Miami, who scored a dismal 9%. The next lowest score was a "Republican" from the Senate, Ervin Yen of Oklahoma City, who could only manage 10%.

Three more Republicans had the next lowest scores, at 13%. They included House members Lee Denney (Cushing) and Charles Ortega of Altus; and Senate member Jim Halligan of Stillwater.

Republican Rep. John Enns of Enid had an 18% score, followed by another Republican, Rep. Doug Cox of Grove at 19%.

Scoring 20% was Democrat Susan Paddack of Ada in the Senate, along with Republican Lisa Billy (Lindsay), and Democrats Claudia Griffith (Norman) and Cyndi Munson of Oklahoma City in the House to round out the Top Liberals list this year.

A description of the bills used for this year's ratings, a list of all the legislators with their vote on each of the ten bills, their total score for this year, and their Cumulative Average including scores from previous years, is found in the center of this issue. It is also available by clicking the box labeled "How Conservative is your legislator?" in the upper right corner of our home page at:

Other Stories From Summer 2016 Issue

The Federal Page for Summer 2016

Theodore King
Conscience Protection AmendmentOn July 13, the U.S. House of Representatives voted 245 in favor ...

End Civil Asset Forfeiture in Oklahoma

Steve Byas
William Cicco left his Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, home in March 2013, and was arrested by Bixby police...

Changes in Tulsa Public School Curriculum:

Linda Murphy
As teachers prepare to return to their classrooms, those in Tulsa Public Schools are learning that...

Vote Walking

Jason Murphey
Each year, members of the Legislature cast votes impacting almost every aspect of life: from public...

Governor Fallin "Worse than I Expected"

Charlie Meadows
When Mary Fallin was running for governor in 2010, I made no bones about her not being a...

Higher Ed Can Tighten its Belt

Brandon Dutcher
In a recent column in The Wall Street Journal, economist Richard Vedder, an adjunct scholar at the...

Bedlam: How a Classic Rivalry Explains Never-Trump,and Never-Hillary.

Andrew K. Boyle
When one is both color blind and a foreign transplant, it is easy to fall backwards into the...

Tidbits for Summer 2016

Constitution Staff
Next State Senate Pro TemporeIn April, Republican senators voted to designate Senator Mike Sc...

Report on the Republican National Convention

Steve Byas
Oklahoma Constitution newspaper editor Steve Byas was a delegate to the Republican National...

RINO Legislators Launch Think Tank

Constitution Staff
Three Republican state senators who will be leaving the Legislature are launching a think tank that...

Letters to Editor for Summer 2016

Constitution Staff
Another Questionable Fallin VetoI received a letter forwarded by Kevin Hurdelbink, managing tech...

Murphy Secures Another Term on Oklahoma Corporation Commission

Constitution Staff
Oklahoma Corporation Commissioner Dana Murphy secured another six-year term after her only opponent...

Oklahoma Legislative Races Advance to Primary Runoff Election

Constitution Staff
Three state legislators, including a senator and two representatives, were defeated in the June 28...

Congressmen Win Renomination in Primary Election

Constitution Staff
The U.S. Congress is composed of two chambers. Senators serve six-year terms with only a third of...

RIED Report Names Legislators Supporting Big Business Interests

Constitution Staff
In June, the Research Institute for Economic Development (RIED) released their legislative scorecard...

In The News

Constitution Staff

Voters Reject Four of Five State Questions
Six statewide ballot measures were certified for the 2018 elections in Oklahoma. One measure, the...

Constitution Staff

All Judges Survive Retention Ballot
On November 6, Oklahoma voters retained four Supreme Court justices, three Court of Criminal Appeals...

Constitution Staff

Democrats Flip Oklahoma Congressional Seat
The big news coming out of the Oklahoma congressional elections was the flipping of the Fifth...

Constitution Staff

Republicans Sweep Statewide Secondary Offices
In addition to the governors office, a host of secondary statewide offices, and one seat for the...

Constitution Staff

Governor Kevin Stitt
On January 14, J. Kevin Stitt was inaugurated as the 28th governor of the State of Oklahoma. He...

Constitution Columnists

David Deming

A Tale of Two Professors
In the Fall 2018 issue of the Oklahoma Constitution, I related the persecution of OU law professor...

Jason Murphey

Stopping the Revolving Door
It was quite the surreal moment in the Oklahoma House of Representatives! As the 2018 legislative...

Julie Wilkinson

How I Got In. How I Left.
Back in 1984, left a dysfunctional relationship with my boyfriend in Florida, and decided to move...

© 2001 - 2009 The Oklahoma Constitution, all rights reserved.
Contact the Oklahoma Constitution by calling 405-366-1125 or emailing
Content Management System (CMS) provided by WebTeks CMS.