Conservative Index Add

Wednesday, June 28th, 2017Last Update: Thursday, May 4th, 2017 02:03:55 PM

Cathy Costello Highlights 2015 Defenders of Liberty Awards

By: Constitution Staff

Cathy Costello, widow of the late Labor Commissioner Mark Costello, accepted the Samuel Adams Statesman of the Year Award on behalf of her husband, at the 2015 Defenders of Liberty banquet in Tulsa. She then delivered a moving recollection of Commissioner Costello as a family man.

The award, given to an outstanding public servant, will be re-named in honor of Costello. It is the lone award given to someone by the group to any person who holds public office. The purpose of all the other awards is to honor the efforts of those who work in the trenches for the cause of liberty -- the grassroots. As Samantha Jones, the president of Defenders of Liberty said, "We are excited to come together for our third year celebrating grassroots activists from across the state. It was our hope from the beginning that we could build this even as a yearly get together for activists from across the state to get to know one another better and to recognize the hard work that goes on day in and day out in the great state of Oklahoma."

Those receiving awards included the following:

Frederick Douglas Outstanding Achievement Award: OK2A

James Madison Award: Gary Lanham

Barry Goldwater Award: David Brooke

George and Martha Washington Award: Paul and Mary Wehrenberg

Patrick Henry Award: Ron Cross

Thomas Paine Award: Kenny Bob Tapp

Murray Rothbard Award: Larry Williamson

Benjamin Franklin Award: Charlotte Harer

Paul Revere Award: Morgan Dunsmore

Dolly Madison Award: Diane Engel

Lysander Spooner Award: Tracey Montgomery

Thomas Jefferson Award: Steve Byas

Martin Luther King, Jr., Award: Norma Sapp

Sponsors of the event included The Tulsa 912 Project; Friends of Jim Bridenstine; Holly Gerard; New Valley Forge Partners; Senator Kyle Loveless; Americans for Prosperity Oklahoma; Scott and Debbie McEachin; Senator Anthony Sykes; Tulsa County Assessor Ken Yazel; KFAQ Radio; Representative Jon Echols; Elaine Leone; and Heritage Action.

Those wishing to help with the 2016 awards banquet are asked to email the offer of help to:

Other Stories From Fall 2015 Issue

The Boren Identity: Surprised by Someone I Completely Disagree

Andrew K. Boyle
It is easy to complain about government. Our system of self government is well suited for the cranky...

The Federal Page (Fall 2015)

Theodore King
Planned ParenthoodIn March 2012, pro-life activist and founder of Operation Rescue, Randall Terr...

Did the Grinch Steal the Monument?

Richard Engle
On September 11, 2015 an Oklahoma County District Court ordered that the Ten Commandments monument...

Stopping President Obamas Federally Funded Curriculum and the Expansion of Government Control

Linda Murphy
President Obama said, If you like your school with local control you can keep your school with...

Oklahoma Personal Asset Protection Act SB 838

Kaye Beach
State Senator Kyle Loveless (R-Oklahoma City) is the author of Senate Bill 838, the Personal Asset...

Four of a Kind

Steve Byas
President Calvin Coolidge once said, It is better to kill a bad bill, than to pass a good one....

Growing a Backbone

John Michener
The human backbone begins developing during the first few weeks of an embryos existence in the...

The Senate Transparency Conundrum

Rep. Jason Murphey
Regular readers of the states appropriations bill were greeted by something new as they opened...

Thomas Sowell Interview

Brandon Dutcher
In an excellent interview which recently appeared in The Wall Street Journal, the economist Thomas...

Tidbits for Fall 2015

Constitution Staff
Jari Askins Takes New PostGovernor Mary Fallin announced September 18 that Jari Askins, speci...

(Letter to the Editor)

Constitution Staff
State Judicial MisconductMuch has been said and written, in many locations, about the judicia...

Special Elections for Vacancies in Legislature

Constitution Staff
One vacant legislative seat was recently filled and candidates have filed for the special election...

Cathy Costello Highlights 2015 Defenders of Liberty Awards

Constitution Staff
Cathy Costello, widow of the late Labor Commissioner Mark Costello, accepted the Samuel Adams...

Gerhart Conviction Overturned

Constitution Staff
A couple of years ago, Oklahoma Constitution editor Steve Byas wrote in his column, concerning the...

Pam Pollard Elected Republican State Chairman

Constitution Staff
Pam Pollard Elected Republican State Chairman...

In The News

Constitution Staff

Gov. Fallin Signs REAL ID Compliance Bill
On March 2, Governor Mary Fallin signed House Bill 1845, the REAL ID compliance legislation. The new...

Constitution Staff

Legislature Loses Conservative Champion in David Brumbaugh
Oklahomans are mourning the passing of State Rep. David Brumbuagh (R-Broken Arrow), one of the great...

Constitution Staff

Special Elections to Fill Legislative Seats
Special Elections to fill vacancies in the Oklahoma Legislature are in progress. The vacancies are...

Constitution Staff

2018 Race for Governor
Gov. Mary Fallin, who is now entering the final two years of her second term, is prohibited by term...

Constitution Staff

Bills Move Through Oklahoma Legislature
With the close of the legislative session approaching on May 26, various bills are being considered...

Constitution Columnists

Bill Graves

Historical and Theological Foundations of Law
Noted Constitutional authority John Eidsmoe has written a legal classic on the origins and...

Theodore King

Federal Page for Spring 2017
Mullin Prepares to Break His Three-terms Pledge In 2012, Markwayne Mullin was the best speaker of...

Steve Byas

Cole, Inhofe, Lankford, Russell, Wrong on Syria
It was quite discouraging. Following the decision by President Trump to bomb a country Syria that...

© 2001 - 2009 The Oklahoma Constitution, all rights reserved.
Contact the Oklahoma Constitution by calling 405-366-1125 or emailing
Content Management System (CMS) provided by - Guthrie, Oklahoma.